Search the Dagstuhl Website
Looking for information on the websites of the individual seminars? - Then please:
Not found what you are looking for? - Some of our services have separate websites, each with its own search option. Please check the following list:
Schloss Dagstuhl - LZI - Logo
Schloss Dagstuhl Services
Within this website:
External resources:
  • DOOR (for registering your stay at Dagstuhl)
  • DOSA (for proposing future Dagstuhl Seminars or Dagstuhl Perspectives Workshops)
Within this website:
External resources:
Within this website:
External resources:
  • the dblp Computer Science Bibliography

Dagstuhl Seminar 05061

Foundations of Semistructured Data

( Feb 06 – Feb 11, 2005 )

(Click in the middle of the image to enlarge)

Please use the following short url to reference this page:



As in the first seminar on this topic, the aim of the seminar was to bring together people from the areas related to semi-structured data. However, besides the presentation of recent work, this time the main goal was to identify the main lines of a common framework for future foundational work on semi-structured data. These lines of research are summarized below.

The workshop was of a very interdisciplinary nature with invitees from databases, structured documents, programming languages, information retrieval and formal language theory. Several of the lectures were presented by PhD students. We had four invited speakers and a panel on research evaluation. Due to strong connections between topics treated at this workshop, many of the participants initiated new cooperations and research projects.

More details in the extended summary

  • Serge Abiteboul (University of Paris South XI, FR) [dblp]
  • Loredana Afanasiev (VU University Amsterdam, NL)
  • Marcelo Arenas (University of Toronto, CA) [dblp]
  • Andrei Arion (University of Paris South XI, FR)
  • Michael Benedikt (Bell Labs - Lisle, US) [dblp]
  • Geert Jan Bex (Hasselt University - Diepenbeek, BE)
  • Anne Brüggemann-Klein (TU München, DE)
  • Peter Buneman (University of Edinburgh, GB) [dblp]
  • Giuseppe Castagna (ENS - Paris, FR) [dblp]
  • Alin Deutsch (University of California - San Diego, US) [dblp]
  • Alain Frisch (INRIA - Le Chesnay, FR) [dblp]
  • Philippa Gardner (Imperial College London, GB) [dblp]
  • Floris Geerts (University of Edinburgh, GB) [dblp]
  • Martin Grohe (HU Berlin, DE) [dblp]
  • Stephan Hagemann (Universität Münster, DE)
  • Jan Hidders (University of Antwerp, BE) [dblp]
  • Christoph Koch (TU Wien, AT) [dblp]
  • Alberto Laender (Federal University of Minas Gerais - Belo Horizont, BR)
  • Carolin Letz (Universität Münster, DE)
  • Sergio Maffeis (Imperial College London, GB) [dblp]
  • Ioana Manolescu-Goujot (University of Paris South XI, FR) [dblp]
  • Jerzy Marcinkowski (Wroclaw University of Technology, PL) [dblp]
  • Wim Martens (Hasselt University - Diepenbeek, BE) [dblp]
  • Maarten Marx (University of Amsterdam, NL)
  • Elio Masciari (ICAR-CNR - Rende, IT)
  • Philippe Michiels (University of Antwerp, BE)
  • Tova Milo (Tel Aviv University, IL) [dblp]
  • Anca Muscholl (University Paris-Diderot, FR) [dblp]
  • Frank Neven (University of Limburg, BE) [dblp]
  • Joachim Niehren (University of Lille I, FR) [dblp]
  • Dan Olteanu (LMU München, DE) [dblp]
  • Antonella Poggi (Sapienza University of Rome, IT)
  • Tim Priesnitz (Universität des Saarlandes, DE)
  • Christopher Ré (University of Washington - Seattle, US) [dblp]
  • Stefanie Scherzinger (TU Wien, AT)
  • Klaus U. Schulz (LMU München, DE)
  • Nicole Schweikardt (HU Berlin, DE) [dblp]
  • Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund, DE) [dblp]
  • Luc Segoufin (University of Paris South XI, FR) [dblp]
  • Helmut Seidl (TU München, DE) [dblp]
  • Dan Suciu (University of Washington - Seattle, US) [dblp]
  • Wolfgang Thomas (RWTH Aachen, DE) [dblp]
  • Marc Tommasi (University of Lille I, FR) [dblp]
  • Dieter Van de Craen (Hasselt University - Diepenbeek, BE)
  • Stijn Vansummeren (University of Limburg, BE) [dblp]
  • Roel Vercammen (University of Antwerp, BE)
  • Gottfried Vossen (Universität Münster, DE) [dblp]
  • Volker Weber (Universität Marburg, DE)
  • Felix Weigel (LMU München, DE)
  • Piotr Wieczorek (Wroclaw University of Technology, PL)
  • Uri Zarfaty (Imperial College London, GB)