Search the Dagstuhl Website
Looking for information on the websites of the individual seminars? - Then please:
Not found what you are looking for? - Some of our services have separate websites, each with its own search option. Please check the following list:
Schloss Dagstuhl - LZI - Logo
Schloss Dagstuhl Services
Within this website:
External resources:
  • DOOR (for registering your stay at Dagstuhl)
  • DOSA (for proposing future Dagstuhl Seminars or Dagstuhl Perspectives Workshops)
Within this website:
External resources:
Within this website:
External resources:
  • the dblp Computer Science Bibliography

Dagstuhl Seminar 02371

Experimental Algorithmics

( Sep 08 – Sep 13, 2002 )

Please use the following short url to reference this page:



This seminar is the sequel to the very successful first Dagstuhl Seminar on Experimental Algorithmic s in September 2000 which brought together researchers from both worlds of algorithmics, theoreticians and practitioners. The main question of that seminar was whether and how theoretical and experimental research can co-exist as equal partners under the big roof of algorithmics . Far from coming close to an answer to that question it was decided that there should be another seminar two years later.

Thus, this time we will continue to discuss the fundamental question of the value of experiments as opposed to purely theoretical analysis of algorithms. But this time we will also ask what happens if computer scientists (theoretical or practical) venture out in the world of real systems building and testing (networks, bioinformatics, natural language systems,...) where they usually meet non-CS engineers or physicists with their own methodological framework of experimental evaluation. Is there a fruitful interaction between CS and non-CS? Can we (the experimental algorithmicists) learn from them? Or they from us?

The aim of this workshop is to bring together three groups, theoretical oriented researchers, practical oriented researchers, and people working on real systems. We will invite a few keynote speakers for longer talks, but otherwise the seminar will follow the usual Dagstuhl tradition of short talks and much time for discussions.

The seminar will be held in the week before the ESA 2002 conference in Rome (ESA 2001:

  • Karen Aardal (Georgia Institute of Technology, US) [dblp]
  • Lars Arge (Aarhus University, DK) [dblp]
  • Tetsuo Asano (JAIST - Ishikawa, JP) [dblp]
  • Michael A. Bender (SUNY - Stony Brook, US) [dblp]
  • Jon Louis Bentley (Avaya - Basking Ridge, US) [dblp]
  • Robert E. Bixby (Rice University - Houston, US) [dblp]
  • Adam L. Buchsbaum (AT&T Research - Florham Park, US)
  • Olaf Delgado Friedrichs (Universität Tübingen, DE)
  • Erik D. Demaine (MIT - Cambridge, US) [dblp]
  • Camil Demetrescu (Sapienza University of Rome, IT) [dblp]
  • Rolf Drechsler (Universität Bremen, DE) [dblp]
  • Stefan Droste (TU Dortmund, DE)
  • Rolf Fagerberg (University of Southern Denmark - Odense, DK) [dblp]
  • Anja Feldmann (TU Berlin, DE) [dblp]
  • Michael R. Fellows (University of Newcastle, AU) [dblp]
  • Irene Finocchi (University of Rome "Tor Vergata", IT) [dblp]
  • Jim Fix (Reed College - Portland, US)
  • Rudolf Fleischer (Fudan University - Shanghai, CN) [dblp]
  • Andrew V. Goldberg (Microsoft Corp. - Mountain View, US) [dblp]
  • Roberto Grossi (University of Pisa, IT) [dblp]
  • Ankur Gupta (Duke University - Durham, US)
  • Torben Hagerup (Universität Augsburg, DE) [dblp]
  • Michael Jünger (Universität Köln, DE) [dblp]
  • Thomas Lengauer (MPI für Informatik - Saarbrücken, DE) [dblp]
  • Maciej Liskiewicz (Universität Lübeck, DE)
  • Jochen Maydt (MPI für Informatik - Saarbrücken, DE)
  • Bernard Moret (University of New Mexico - Albuquerque, US) [dblp]
  • Matthias Müller-Hannemann (TU Darmstadt, DE) [dblp]
  • Ian Munro (University of Waterloo, CA) [dblp]
  • Petra Mutzel (TU Dortmund, DE) [dblp]
  • Stefan Näher (Universität Trier, DE)
  • Jordi Petit I Silvestre (UPC - Barcelona, ES)
  • Cynthia A. Phillips (Sandia National Labs - Albuquerque, US) [dblp]
  • Knut Reinert (FU Berlin, DE) [dblp]
  • Frances A. Rosamond (University of Newcastle, AU) [dblp]
  • Jörg-Rüdiger Sack (Carleton University - Ottawa, CA) [dblp]
  • Peter Sanders (KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, DE) [dblp]
  • Robert Sedgewick (Princeton University, US) [dblp]
  • Matthias F. Stallmann (North Carolina State University - Raleigh, US) [dblp]
  • Ulrike Stege (University of Victoria, CA) [dblp]
  • Dorothea Wagner (KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, DE) [dblp]
  • Tandy Warnow (University of Texas - Austin, US) [dblp]
  • Thomas Willhalm (KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, DE) [dblp]
  • Christos Zaroliagis (CTI & University of Patras, GR) [dblp]