TOP
Search the Dagstuhl Website
Looking for information on the websites of the individual seminars? - Then please:
Not found what you are looking for? - Some of our services have separate websites, each with its own search option. Please check the following list:
Schloss Dagstuhl - LZI - Logo
Schloss Dagstuhl Services
Seminars
Within this website:
External resources:
  • DOOR (for registering your stay at Dagstuhl)
  • DOSA (for proposing future Dagstuhl Seminars or Dagstuhl Perspectives Workshops)
Publishing
Within this website:
External resources:
dblp
Within this website:
External resources:
  • the dblp Computer Science Bibliography


dblp Computer Science Bibliography

The dblp computer science bibliography is the premier open bibliographic data base, search engine, and knowledge graph on computer science publications. It has evolved from an early small experimental web server to a popular online service for the international computer science community. Our mission is to support computer science researchers all over the world in their daily efforts by providing free access to high-quality bibliographic metadata and hyperlinks to the electronic editions of publications.

As of 2023, dblp indexes over 6.5 million publications, published by more than 3 million authors. To this end, dblp covers more than 50,000 journal volumes, more than 50,000 conference and workshop proceedings, and more than 100,000 monographs. Please find more statistics on dblp here. The dblp team places particular emphasis on the reliability and quality of the metadata entries. Every year, more than 500,000 new publications are added to dblp in a rigorous, semi-automated and semi-manual data curation process.

Via its website dblp.org, dblp provides unique insight into the complex interrelations and semantic networks of international computer science research. All data is also made publicly available for reuse under the CC0 1.0 Public Domain Dedication license as bulk download and via open data APIs. Every month, the dblp servers record more than 40 million page impressions by more than 750,000 users from all over the world.

In recent years, the database has grown to be a powerful semantic tool that supports computer scientists and stakeholders on several levels, for example by:

  • supporting researchers in their day-to-day work, e.g., when reviewing the literature or searching for full-text research articles
  • supporting the scholarly publication process by providing standardized bibliographic reference data
  • supporting researchers and institutions in their reporting duties by curating quality-assured bibliographies
  • supporting research funders and decision-makers, e.g., by providing publicly available and explorable bibliographic references

In addition, the dblp dataset itself is object of study of several thousand research articles. Hence, dblp has become indispensable to the computer science community as both a research information infrastructure and as a research dataset.

dblp-Statistics

  • # of publications: 6,986,787
  • # of authors: 3,390,878
  • # of conferences: 6,445
  • # of journals: 1,854

Contact dblp

History

The dblp computer science bibliography was started in 1993 by Dr. Michael Ley at the University of Trier. In creating dblp, Ley reacted to the special publication culture in computer science, where conference contributions – which were rather ignored by general scholarly databases and indices – often play a more important role than publications in scientific journals. Although originally only focusing on publications from the fields of database systems and logic programming (hence, "dblp"), the service became soon popular with the community and gradually expanded toward all fields of computer science. Over the years, and with only minimal staffing, the database grew to already list more than one million publications in 2008.

In November 2010, the University of Trier and Schloss Dagstuhl joined forces to strengthen the value and ensure the long-term sustainability of the infrastructure. The database has since been operated and further developed by both institutions in close cooperation. Since 2011, Schloss Dagstuhl has been providing the lion share of the staff and the resources of dblp.

On the occasion of dblp's 25th anniversary, the full operation of dblp was transferred to Schloss Dagstuhl in November 2018. Dagstuhl has now adopted dblp as part of its main mission of fostering and supporting research communication, thus ensuring a stable enduring operation of the database in the future.

The database and its creator have been honored with several prizes, such as

  • the ACM SIGMOD Service Award 1997
  • the VLDB Endowment 1997 Special Recognition Award
  • the ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award 2003
  • the ACM Distinguished Service Award 2019

Funding

Today, the permanent operations of dblp is guaranteed by Schloss Dagstuhl's funders

  • the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research 
  • the state of Rhineland-Palantine
  • the state of Saarland

Over the years, the database has also received funding, grants, and donations from various sources, such as

  • Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation, DFG)
  • Leibniz Gemeinschaft (Leibniz Association)
  • Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence (AI2),
  • Klaus Tschira Foundation
  • Microsoft Research
  • Max Planck Institute for Informatics
  • ACM SIGMOD Anthology project
  • Very Large Data Base Endowment
  • as well as donations by individual researchers

TOP
Suche auf der Schloss Dagstuhl Webseite
Sie suchen nach Informationen auf den Webseiten der einzelnen Seminare? - Dann:
Nicht fündig geworden? - Einige unserer Dienste laufen auf separaten Webseiten mit jeweils eigener Suche. Bitte beachten Sie folgende Liste:
Schloss Dagstuhl - LZI - Logo
Schloss Dagstuhl Services
Seminare
Innerhalb dieser Seite:
Externe Seiten:
  • DOOR (zum Registrieren eines Dagstuhl Aufenthaltes)
  • DOSA (zum Beantragen künftiger Dagstuhl Seminare oder Dagstuhl Perspektiven Workshops)
Publishing
Innerhalb dieser Seite:
Externe Seiten:
dblp
Innerhalb dieser Seite:
Externe Seiten:
  • die Informatik-Bibliographiedatenbank dblp


dblp Computer Science Bibliography

Die dblp Computer Science Bibliography ist die führende offene Bibliographiedatenbank, Suchmaschine und Wissensgraph für Publikationen in der Informatik. Was als kleiner, experimenteller Webserver begann ist heute ein gefragter Online-Dienst für die internationale Informatik-Community. Wir sehen unseren Auftrag darin, Informatik-Forscherende auf der ganzen Welt bei ihrer Arbeit zu unterstützen, und zwar durch freien Zugang zu hochwertigen bibliographischen Metadaten und durch die Bereitstellung von Hyperlinks zu den elektronischen Ausgaben von Publikationen.

Stand 2022 sind über 6 Millionen Publikationen, verfasst von mehr als 3 Millionen Forschenden, in dblp indexiert. So enthält der Datenbank über 50.000 Zeitschriftenbände, mehr als 50.000 Konferenz- und Workshop-Bände und über 100.000 Monographien. Weitere dblp-Statistiken finden Sie hier.

Das dblp-Team legt besonderen Wert auf die Zuverlässigkeit und Qualität der Metadaten. Über die Website dblp.org bietet dblp einen einzigartigen Einblick in die komplexen Wechselbeziehungen und semantischen Zusammenhänge innerhalb der internationalen Informatikforschung. Sämtliche Daten stehen dabei als Komplett-Download und sowie über Open-Data-APIs unter der CC0 1.0 Public Domain Dedication Lizenz zur Nachnutzung zur Verfügung. Monatlich verzeichnen die dblp-Server über 40 Millionen Seitenaufrufe durch mehr als 750.000 Nutzende aus der ganzen Welt. 

In den letzten Jahren hat sich die dblp-Datenbank zu einem leistungsfähigen, semantischen Werkzeug entwickelt, das Informatik-Forschende und Interessierte auf gleich mehreren Ebenen unterstützt, z.B. durch die:

  • Unterstützung von Forschenden bei ihrer täglichen Arbeit, z.B. bei der Literaturrecherche und dem Bezug von Volltexten gesuchter Fachartikel
  • Unterstützung des wissenschaftlichen Publikationsprozesses durch die Bereitstellung standardisierter bibliographischer Referenzdaten
  • Unterstützung von Forschenden und Institutionen im Rahmen ihrer Berichtspflicht durch Kuration von qualitätsgesicherter Bibliographien
  • Unterstützung von Geldgebenden und Entscheidungstragenden, z.B. durch die Bereitstellung öffentlich zugänglicher und verlinkter Pubikationsnachweise

Darüber hinaus ist der dblp-Datensatz selbst Untersuchungsgegenstand Tausender von Fachartikeln. Für die Informatik-Community ist dblp zugleich als Forschungsinformationsinfrastruktur sowie als Forschungsdatensatz unentbehrlich geworden.

dblp-Statistics

  • # of publications: 6,509,252
  • # of authors: 3,179,378
  • # of conferences: 6,135
  • # of journals: 1,821

Kontakt dblp

Geschichte

Die dblp Computer Science Bibliography wurde 1993 von Dr. Michael Ley an der Universität Trier ins Leben gerufen. Ley reagierte damit auf die spezielle Publikationskultur in der Informatik, wo Konferenzbeiträge – die oft von gängigen wissenschaftlichen Datenbanken und Indizes ignoriert werden – häufig eine größere Rolle spielen als Publikationen in Fachzeitschriften. Anfangs lag der Fokus ausschließlich auf Publikationen aus den Bereichen Datenbanken und Logische Programmierung (daher der Name "dblp"). Doch der Dienst fasste schnell Fuß in der Community und deckte schon bald nach und nach alle Teildisziplinen der Informatik ab. Im Laufe der Jahre wuchs der Umfang der Datenbank trotz eines stets nur kleinen Teams kontinuierlich an und indexierte im Jahr 2008 bereits über eine Million Publikationen.

Im November 2010 schlossen sich die Universität Trier und Schloss Dagstuhl zusammen, um so die Infrastruktur zu stärken und deren Betrieb langfristig zu sichern. Die Datenbank wurde anschließend von beiden Institutionen gemeinsam und in enger Zusammenarbeit betrieben und weiterentwickelt. Seit 2011 stellt Schloss Dagstuhl den Großteil des Personals und der Ressourcen.

Im November 2018 – zeitgleich zum 25. Geburtstag der Datenbank – übernahm Schloss Dagstuhl vollständig den Betrieb von dblp. Heute ist dblp Teil des Leistungsangebotes von Schloss Dagstuhl und unterstützt dessen Ziel, forschungsbezogene Kommunikation zu fördern. Der Fortbestand der Datenbank ist somit dauerhaft sichergestellt.

Sowohl die Datenbank als auch ihr Urheber sind mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet worden:

  • ACM SIGMOD Service Award 1997
  • VLDB Endowment 1997 Special Recognition Award
  • ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award 2003
  • ACM Distinguished Service Award 2019

Finanzierung

Der dauerhafte Betrieb der dblp Computer Science Bibliography wird durch Schloss Dagstuhls Geldgebende ermöglicht:

  • dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung
  • das Bundesland Rheinland-Pfalz
  • das Bundesland Saarland

Im Laufe der Jahre hat die Datenbank auch Finanzmittel, Projektförderungen und Spenden von weiteren Stellen erhalten, u.a.:

  • Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
  • Leibniz-Gemeinschaft
  • Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence (AI2),
  • Klaus Tschira Stiftung
  • Microsoft Research
  • Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik
  • ACM SIGMOD Anthology Projekt
  • Very Large Data Base Endowment
  • sowie Spenden von einzelnen Forschenden